Fruit Bearing

The seed that fell on good soil represents those who truly hear and understand God’s word and produce a harvest of thirty, sixty, or even a hundred times as much as had been planted!” ~ Matthew 13:23

I’m always amazed at the spiritual lessons that one can learn in a garden.

Yesterday, as I was watering my garden, I noticed something kind of interesting.

I have 2 apple trees that I got as cuttings about 6 years ago. They look identical. They are both about 10-12 feet tall now. What caught my attention was that when I started looking at one of them, checking for fruit, I found that it was loaded with really nice-sized apples. I was so excited, thinking of applesauce, apple butter, apple pie jam, etc.

So, after praising God for the fruit-producing tree, I started to look at the other one, just sure that it would be filled as well. Imagine my disappointment when I couldn’t even find 1 apple on this tree. The tree was just as beautifully adorned with leaves as the other one, but it was all “looks”. There was no fruit. Nothing.

It really reminded me of how we, as Christians, can look really healthy, can actually be flourishing in our relationship with Jesus Christ, but, still, we have no fruit to show for our lives. The difference is taking the time to minister to others, to talk to them about Jesus Christ, to encourage them in their faith, to really teach them about walking with the Lord.

The secret is found in this verse from Matthew, “Those who truly hear and understand God’s Word”.

God tells us to live a life that honors Him. If we do not do that, those that we minister to will not receive the “seed” of the Gospel. Only when we grasp that God calls us to holiness – so that our ministry is effective, will be not only “look” like healthy Christians, but we will be fruit producers!

Leave a Reply

