A True Friend?

This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you slaves, because a master doesn’t confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me. You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name. This is my command: Love each other. ~ John 15:12-17 (NLT)

Okay, first, let me clarify that, in no way, am I questioning the “trueness” of Jesus’ friendship with us. He’s proven Himself a worthy Friend, over and over to all of us.

What I am asking is, have we done the same?

What standard can you measure the “true-ness” of our friendship to Jesus Christ? I think there is a very clear standard here in this passage,

“You are my friends if you do what I command”.

It’s very popular right now to lay claim to “being a friend of God”.

We all know what the measure of a true friend is in our worldly relationships.

We chose friends who will be loyal, faithful, loving, kind, encouraging, helpful, supportive, etc.,

We avoid “friends” who stab us in the back, turn on us when we need them, are cruel, are not there when we need them, etc.

So, knowing that Jesus is the most faithful Friend, I must ask,

What kind of friend are we to Him?

Do we turn on Him, rather than defending Him to others?

Do we show His love to those in need?

Are we faithful to Him in our thoughts, words, actions and reactions?

It’s one thing to lay claim to being a friend of God but quite another to prove it with our lives.

Leave a Reply

