Totally Submitted – No More Excuses – Part 4 (Conclusion…..for now)

“I know also, my God, that You test the heart and have pleasure in uprightness. As for me, in the uprightness of my heart I have willingly offered all these things; and now with joy I have seen Your people, who are present here to offer willingly to You.” ~ 1 Chronicles 29:17

Okay, so we’ve tackled the first two excuses for not obeying God’s Word – now, for the last one – “God knows my heart.”

I find it interesting that when I get this one, it is, more often than not, accompanied by the other two…

“You’re being legalistic, and judging me….but God really knows my heart.”

To this, I simply say…

What a sobering thought!

Yes, God does know your heart….

  • He sees the rebellion that keeps you from obedience
  • He sees the desire for control that keeps you from surrender
  • He sees the pride that keeps you from submission
  • He sees the selfishness that keeps you from serving Him and others
  • He sees the bitterness that keeps you from forgiving
  • He sees the conceit that keeps you from conforming to His standards
  • He sees the fear that keeps you from sharing Him with others
  • He sees the desire for comfort that keeps you from sacrificing any of yourself for Him or others
  • He sees the arrogance that keeps you from living life His way
  • He sees the foolishness that it takes to even make this statement in defense of our defiance to Him.

So, knowing that God does see your heart, already knows all of your barriers to obedience – isn’t it time to break down those barriers in the name of Jesus Christ, and give God the complete surrendered submission that He so greatly deserves?

Let our prayer, daily, be this:

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
Point out anything in me that offends you,
and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

~ Psalm 139:23-24

1 Comment »

  1. Accurate application of a great truth that is often ignored


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

