Totally Submitted – No More Excuses – Part 2

For if we would judge ourselves, we would not be judged.  But when we are judged, we are chastened by the Lord, that we may not be condemned by the world. ~ 1 Corinthians 11:31-32

Today’s post is totally summed up in the above verse.

Taking the first reason excuse that I am faced with, “You’re judging me!”

Think about this for a minute…..

You come to my door, knock on it, and I open it.

You come in, and proceed to tell me how excited you are!  You have a very important meeting with your boss.  You are just sure that this meeting means a promotion and a raise!

I just happen to notice that you have a huge black smudge across your forehead.

Do I think to myself, “Hmmmmm……I wonder if I should say anything?”?  No, out of concern for you, for this meeting to go well, I would say, “Ummmm……you might want to clean up your forehead, first.”

Would you look at me and say, “You’re judging me!” …….

Probably not.

You would probably find a mirror (and a washcloth) and take care of the problem.

Why would I feel a responsibility to do this?  Because I have a vantage point that you don’t have in your overall appearance.

Sometimes, in life, we have faded so subtly into sin in our lives that we don’t see it.  This is why it is so important to (in love ONLY) hold someone accountable

So, when, out of concern for your relationship with God, and your testimony before others, I would mention what I observe in your life, why is it considered “judging”.

If you would have looked into the mirror for yourself, before heading out to see me, you would have spotted the smudge for yourself (and I bet the next time, you would look in the mirror for yourself).

If you were in a burning building – would it be judging for me to tell you it’s on fire?

If you were standing in the middle of a busy highway – would it be judging for me to tell you to move?

If you were about to take a bite of firehouse-hot chili – would it be judging for me to warn you that it’s hot?

No, just as in the very same way it is not judging for me to say, “You know, I see ______ in your life, and it’s not good for you spiritually, or for your testimony as a representative as God’s Word.”

If more people would be willing to stand up for what is right and what is wrong in our lives (according to God’s Word), how much different would Christianity look today?

Leave a Reply

