Totally Submitted – No More Excuses – Part 1

Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.” ~ John 14:21

Addressing sin in someone else’s life is never easy – but, it is crucial to do so.
Brethren, if anyone among you wanders from the truth, and someone turns him back, let him know that he who turns a sinner from the error of his way will save a soul from death and cover a multitude of sins. ~ James 5:19-20
This is even more important in the role of an accountability partner.
I’ve had many responses to these situations.  They typically boil down to three responses:
  1. You’re judging me.
  2. That’s just legalistic
  3. God sees my heart.

I will, Lord willing, spend the next three days posting the responses to those three statements.

First, I’d like to address the issue of sin in our own lives.  We cannot help anyone else turn away from sin, if there is a blaring sin in our own lives.

Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove the speck from your eye’; and look, a plank is in your own eye? Hypocrite! First remove the plank from your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye. ~ Matthew 7:4-5

Note that this does not say, “Don’t remove the splinter from your brother’s eye because of the plank in your own.”

Living a God-honoring, holy life is not only possible – but very do-able (as I’ve blogged over and over again).  This is true, not because of any goodness in or of ourselves, but by our dying to self, and allowing the Holy Spirit to dwell in our hearts and live through us.

So, now that we see the need for addressing sin in the lives of those around us (remembering that nothing matters but eternity), I will, over the course of the next several days, be giving the answers that I use when given the three reasons, excuses above.

Leave a Reply

