White Sheets

Let the one who is doing harm continue to do harm; let the one who is vile continue to be vile; let the one who is righteous continue to live righteously; let the one who is holy continue to be holy.”

“Look, I am coming soon, bringing my reward with me to repay all people according to their deeds.  I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.”

Blessed are those who wash their robes.  They will be permitted to enter through the gates of the city and eat the fruit of the tree of life.  outside the city are the dogs – the sorcerers, the sexually immoral, the murderers, the idol worshipers, and all whole to live a lie. ~ Revelation 22:10-14

I absolutely love fresh, clean, dried-on-the-line, white sheets and pillowcases.  Yes, I do bleach them.  After washing them, and bringing them in last night, I had a perfect object lesson for living a holy life.

I made my bed, then got dressed for bed, and got ready to climb in to go to sleep.  I happened to glance down, and my feet were dirty from going outside and working in the garden (yep, barefoot).  So, before I climbed into the fresh-smelling, pristine white linen-clad bed, I got in the shower.

Why?  Because I want the linens to stay white, clean, and pristine.

When we can see our lives as these white sheets, cleansed by the blood of Christ, left more pristine than any bleach could ever clean, we should carefully examine what we bring into these “sheets” very carefully.

If we examine our lives, not weekly, as we are sitting in church (where they look quite clean, by the way – I mean, we are there – right?)but daily, hourly, even minute-ly, we become conscious of our “filthiness”, and make a more diligent, intentional, deliberate choice to live a clean, holy life that honors and glorifies God in every aspect, every corner.

The floor in my kitchen is white.  I see this as a good thing.  Some women would complain that it shows every speck of dirt, and every dint, ding and scar.  It does.  I love it because I can clearly see what needs to be cleaned up on it.  I see each scar and ding as a mistake that I’ve made, and they serve as reminders to not make the same ones over again (moving heavy furniture through, cutting the linoleum…)

Sometimes the difference is so superficial that it screams for examination

When you have a white floor, (as our white lives), it’s easy to spot dirt, and remove it.

When you have a darker floor, it’s easier and easier to “let things go” that should be cleaned up.

When something is clean, it’s so much easier to keep it clean than it is to have to clean up after it’s “messied”.

When things (just like our lives) are cluttered, it’s easy to overlook trash, broken items, and dirt.  But when we “de-clutter” (our lives as well as our living spaces), we make it easier for the area (or our lives) to stay cleaner.

Knowing what God says in Revelation 21:27, (But there shall by no means enter it anything that defiles, or causes an abomination or a lie, but only those who are written in the Lamb’s Book of Life.), along with Revelation 22:11 (He who is unjust, let him be unjust still; he who is filthy, let him be filthy still; he who is righteous, let him be righteous still; he who is holy, let him be holy still.) should be a clear mandate to live our lives now the way we will throughout all eternity.

Leave a Reply

