The Power of the Resurrection – For Living Now!

Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having my own righteousness, which is from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which is from God by faith; that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death, if by any means, I may attain to the resurrection from the dead.

Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Therefore let us, as many as are mature, have this mind; and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal even this to you.  Nevertheless, to the degree that we have already attained, let us walk by the same rule, let us be of the same mind.       ~ Philippians 3:8-16

Resurrection weekend was very different for me this year in a lot of ways.

I was blessed to be able to see, and more longingly grasp the meaning of the resurrection, as a means of hope for those in Christ who have left this mortal body behind, and are no longer in pain, no longer confined to the limitations of this earthly form.  It’s a beautiful thing to have that reassurance.

I don’t want to discount that in any way, shape, or form.

I’ve also heard several really great sermons on the resurrection, and the hope that it gives us for eternal life, through the power of Christ’s resurrection.

But, I think the thought that struck me the most was this:  Christ’s death, burial, and resurrection mean that, when I accept His free gift of salvation, and commit to Him being my Lord and Savior, my eternal life begins at that moment.  It’s not something that happens when I die.  

Knowing this gives me the strength to put my own self-will, my own desires, my own weaknesses, my own selfishness to death with Christ, and take on His righteousness – so that I may live life eternal here in the present, as well as having that hope for eternal life in the physical Presence of my Lord and Savior.

I’m truly afraid that some “Christians” live this life without that understanding, living a totally defeated life.

I find it ironic that so many believe that God is capable of raising us from the dead – later (nothing short of miraculous), but, in some ways, doubt that He is capable of strengthening us to live a God-honoring life now.

If you are feeling totally defeated by past mistakes, habits that bind you, or being defined by who you were ~ know this:  God (Who will raise you from the dead to eternal life), also wants you to live that eternal life in His Presence here on this earth, in this life.  He would not call us to live a holy life if it were not possible.

In and of ourselves, it is not possible, but, through the power that we have through Christ – it is!!!

Leave a Reply

