Me First – God’s Way!

Imitate me, just as I also imitate Christ. ~ 1 Corinthians 11:1-3

 

Jesus said to him, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell what you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me. ~ Matthew 19:21

There’s a phrase that says, “Be the change you want to see.”  

I’ve been looking at relationships this week, and I’ve notice a direct correlation between how I act, and how the relationship follows.  If I’m snappy, it’s noticed, and normally I’m snapped back at.  If I’m grumpy, it’s noticed, and I normally don’t get the desired interaction in that relationship, either.

I challenge you, and myself, to try this experiment this week.  Live, love, and treat others the way you want to be treated, and live a life that is an example, and that deserves the type of treatment you expect.

If you want to be – then do .

What do I mean?

If you want to be respected, then live a respectable life.

If you want to be loved, then be lovable.

If you want to be looked up to, then live a life of integrity that’s admirable.

If you want those around you to be more Godly, then you take the initiative, and be Godly.

Now, I’m not saying to do these things merely to get the desired effect.  Far from it.  I just want us to be aware of the fact that others respond to our attitudes, actions, words, and thoughts.

So many times we fall into the “Well, if they won’t respect me, I won’t respect them” trap.  Respect should be earned, but, maybe, just maybe, sometimes, if we show the respect first, they will begin to act respectable.

Just a thought.

Bottom line…..

Live a God-honoring, respectable, loving life of integrity – being genuine, and watch how you living that type of life affects those around you.

 

Leave a Reply

