Sold Out ~ Or ~ Hold Out

I know your works, that you are neither cold nor hot.  I could wish you were cold or hot.  So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth. ~ Revelation 3:15-16

We have gotten so far away from the saving (rescuing) message of the Gospel that we don’t understand what this truly means, what it looks like in real life.

In reading “A Plain Account of Christian Perfection” by John Wesley, this truth jumped off the page, and landed squarely in my heart.  I highly recommend this “article” to everyone.  I will be posting my notes from this study over the next few days.

In Section 2, John Wesley states:

…I resolved to dedicate all my life to God, all my thoughts, and words, and actions; being thoroughly convinced, there was no medium; but that every part of my life (not some only) must either be a sacrifice to God, or myself, that is, in effect, to the devil.

Can any serious person doubt of this, or find a medium between serving God and serving the devil?

Leaves little room for doubt, doesn’t it?

Further, in Section 4, Wesley talks about:

…the absolute impossibility of being half a Christian; and I determined, through His grace, (the absolute necessity of which I was deeply sensible of) to be all-devoted to God, to give Him all my soul, my body, and my substance.

Will any considerate man say, that this is carrying the matter too far? or that anything less is due to Him Who has given Himself for us, than to give Him ourselves, all we have and all we are?

The Scripture passage that I quoted at the beginning of this post really makes me think.

Have you ever known someone (I have!) that you are never sure where you stand with them.  You don’t know if you are their friend or if you are their enemy.  I really don’t like that.  I’d rather know that you don’t like me, than to wonder….

Passionately sold out for God is the side that I’m choosing.  

What right, what reason, what excuse, what justification could I ever possibly offer to the One Who gave all for me, to not be 100% committed to Him in every area of my life, not just some, not just the ones that I choose to “give” Him.

So, where do you stand?  Are you dedicating 100% of every area of your life to God, or are there areas that you are holding back from Him.

So, sold out? ~ or ~ hold out? – Where do you stand?

 

Leave a Reply

