Obedience – Part 2

Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.

2 Corinthians 10:5

The second test in this “checklist” is this:

Do you stop what you are doing when given instructions?

Obedience is acting on commands immediately (no delays, no objections, no reasons like, “Let me finish this first)

Delayed obedience is disobedience.  When your authority asks you to do something, stop what you are doing immediately, and carry out what you were told to do.  If you are working on a project that will be damaged if not finished, make your authority aware of this, and let him decide which is the greater priority.

Okay, this one is really  tough for me.  

Now, I’m not talking about leaving unfinished projects willy-nilly, in this instance, I’m mostly referring to sin.

As in when the Lord shows us that something is wrong, let’s not be in the habit of “Wait a minute, let me just finish this one thing……”  

Why is it that when we clearly see God’s instruction on any given subject, we know that we should stop doing it immediately, but we often feel like we need to continue “just a bit more”.

We must stop this.  

Lord, help me to open my heart to Your Word constantly, filtering my life through every Word.  As I see things that I’m doing that I shouldn’t be doing, help me to immediately stop it.  As I see things that I’m not doing that I should be doing, help me to immediately start doing it.  

In Your Precious Name, Beth

 

Leave a Reply

