Obedience – Part 1

“What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? Certainly not!

Do you not know that to whom you present yourselves slaves to obey, you are that one’s slaves whom you obey, whether of sin leading to death, or of obedience leading to righteousness?

But God be thanked that though you were slaves of sin, yet you obeyed from the heart that form of doctrine to which you were delivered.

Romans 6:15-17

Over the next few days, I want to take a good hard look at my heart in the area of obedience.  I’ll be using the “Ten Ways to Test Your Obedience” from the Character Journal website (http://www.characterjournal.com/html/obedience.htm) .

This is a “checklist” that I found while searching for ways to explain obedience to my children.  Today, as I was reading over this list again, I knew that this is what I expect of my children, but I want to take a look at it from a different perspective.  I want to look at it by answering the questions asked regarding my “Father/child” relationship with God.

The Article is Titled “10 Ways to Test Your Obedience”

So, here’s Question 1 on this test –

Do you ask for reasons when your request is turned down?

“Obedience is accepting “no” as a final answer. (No questions, no appeals, no discussions, no nothing!!!)

When you make a request, and are told “no”, it would be an act of disobedience to discuss the matter any further.  Simply thank your authority for considering the request, and drop the subject.

This is a tough one for me.  Always has been, but, Lord willing, I’ll learn to trust more.

Although this is referring to an earthly parent saying no, and is addressed as such, knowing that as humans, sometimes we have to blindly trust that our parents know best.  This concept does not apply to God, because not only does He know best, but He always has our best interest in mind.  Always.  Period.

That does not mean that He will answer every prayer with a “Yes”.  And, when He says, “No”, I should trust Him enough to know what is best for me in any given circumstance, and therefore, not “argue” with Him over it.

For example, if my 10 year old daughter comes to me and asks me for a piece of cake, and I know that we will be eating dinner in about 10 minutes, so I say, “No”.  I have that knowledge that she will be eating good, healthy food shortly.  If she proceeds to argue with me about how hungry she is, she is assuming that I don’t know that she needs to eat, soon.  This assumption is not respectful or honoring at all.

And, for me to make that assumption of God is no different.  He knows what tomorrow will bring.  He knows what lies ahead for me.  So, if I ask Him for something, and the answer is, “No”, I should trust Him completely.

It does become a trust issue, a faith issue.  And if I decide that I want to “argue” the point, I’m suggesting that I think that I know better than He does, and that way of thinking is backwards.

And you know what?  There is a quiet comfort that comes when we finally grasp that He does know what is best, and we can fully rely on the promises that He makes us throughout the Bible.  Promises such as the one found in Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.”

We do expect complete obedience from our children – I think Christians would be wise to offer the same from ourselves in our relationship to our Father – God!!!

Leave a Reply

