What Are My “Chains” ?

Because of my chains most of the brothers in the Lord have been encouraged to speak the Word of God more courageously and fearlessly.

Philippians 1:14

Although we are not in physical “chains” we all have:been through something, are going through something, or will go through something at some point in our lives.

As Christians, we are always being watched. 

Some people are going to watch us skeptically to see if the faith we speak of is real enough to act as a stabilizer when these “chains” are shaken – when the storms come.

Other people are going to watch us, seeking an example of how to respond and act when they find similar circumstances in their lives.

I’ve had a lot of “chains” in my life, and, although I didn’t always use them in a Godly way at the time, our redeeming Savior has allowed me the opportunity to – because I have experienced these things – help others who are going through them now.

In our human nature, our “first instinct” is to not want to use these “chains” to minister to others, but to simply want them to go away and be forgotten.  God forbid this!!!

In the middle of an opportunity for me to use one of my “chains” (to minister to a young woman going through something I had experienced, that was painful), I was asked this question:  “Why do you think God lets things like this to come up and dredge up the memories and pain of what you went through?”  

My answer was simply, “Because that’s why I went through them, to use them to help others through them.”

Paul tells us in Romans 8:28, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”  Notice that this does not say, “All thing work together in Beth’s life for Beth’s good.”  All things work together for good to those who love God,

You see, human nature is such that we tend to think that no one else understands what we’re going through. 

So, when we meet someone else who has “been there, done that”, it gives us hope that someone else does understand, and can possibly even help us through it.

Through the chains of physical and mental abuse in an early marriage, I have been able to help others through their feelings of rejection, failure and pain in the same situation.

Through the chains of miscarriages (I’ve had 3), I’ve been able to minister to others feeling the pain and heartache that goes along with it.

Through the chains of widowhood, I was even blessed to be able to lead a newly widowed woman to the Lord’s arms only because I had “been there, done that”

Leave a Reply

