Being Ourselves – Honestly

The time is coming – it has, in fact come – when what you’re called will not matter and where you go to worship will not matter.  It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God.  Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth.  That’s the kind of people the Father wants:  those who are simply and honestly themselves before Him in their worship.

John 4:23 (paraphrased)

I don’t think this “honestly be themselves” is the “let your hair down” or “free to be you and me” philosophy of the world. Rather, I see this as I can be honest with God about my character flaws and expose them to the Light of His Word of Truth.  For only in such exposure can He shed His Light on these flaws and scars and show us how to change them, to heal them.

If we go before Him “hiding them” (although we know He can still see them) then, because we haven’t exposed them, or asked Him to change them, we leave in the same condition we came to Him in.

We should leave every encounter with God looking a little more like Him.  Only through this type of honest exposure can that happen.

 

3 Comments »

  1. Pastor Jeff Said:

    We should daily come into his presence ,and ask God to search are hearts. Then when He reveals truth we need to act upon that. If we need to ask for forgiveness or ask for help to change. Seek after righteousness.

  2. Nancy Said:

    Recently a dear friend was killed in an automobile accident. It seemed so untimely as she was newly retired and moved near her children and grandchildren. I believed I should not question God, but I did. A friend said “it is okay to question God, Nancy. He can handle it.” Even though He already knew my thoughts, I was relieved to be honest before him with my sadness and questions. I know that He can turn this into good and glad that today I could spend time in prayer for the family who is in a memorial service for her many miles away.

  3. Michael Ford II Said:

    Great post!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

