Be Careful How You Walk

Therefore, be imitators of God, as beloved children; and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, and offering, and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.  For you were formerly darkness, but now you are light in the Lord; walk as children of Light.  Therefore, be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise.

Ephesians 5:1-2, 8, 15

Our walk matters!  It’s crucial that our actions match our words, and that our words match our actions.

People need to see something different in us as Christians.

We should live our lives to reflect Christ, and we should tell others about the new life that He offers to all.

We should have higher standards for our behavior, and should purpose, by the grace of God, to surpass those standards, as we are ambassadors for God.

I think too many times that we “abuse” our ambassadorship by claiming “diplomatic immunity.”  Thinking that because we are citizens of heaven, we can get away with “crimes” while here on earth.  This should not be the way that Christians live.

Ambassadors have important jobs, and so do we, as Christian ambassadors.  Just as people in a foreign country learn about us, through our ambassadors, so, do the people of this “foreign country” – the world, learn about God through us.

What does your “ambassador – ship” look like?  Are you a true depiction of heaven, of God, or are you poorly representing Him, and skimming by, claiming diplomatic immunity, just because you are a “Christian”?

5 Comments »

  1. Alicia P. Said:

    I think I could always do better as an ambassador but that God sees my heart and that I WANT to live for him and show others what he’s done in my life. It’s a process – not a quick turn around. I think the goal is to be a true depiction of God here on earth but that he honors the steps we take in that pursuit if our hearts and minds are focused on him. Nice thoughts!

  2. Nancy Said:

    Today I heard a radio preacher say there is one thing we won’t have in heaven and that is “Evangelism.” This should be our highest priority while here “Go into the world and preach the gospel.” I not only want to have clean hands and a pure heart, but I want to share Jesus with more people. I do believe that in most cases folks watch our “walk” first and then we should have the right to be heard. I want to share more with those I come in contact with by my words as well as my walk.

  3. Michael Ford II Said:

    You ask great questions in this post. We should certainly consider our “ambassadorship” at all times, and particularly when we deal with others. As a matter of fact, i love playing rec basketball in my spare time, and just recently, I have considered asking one of the guys in the gym that I visit to give me an honest assessment of my character on the court. I want to be sure that I am honoring God with the way I handle myself in the heat of competition. Great post here. Keep up the great work for Christ!!

    • bessfisher Said:

      That’s a great idea! Maybe if we all did that in our various “venues” things would look a lot different in the Christian world!

  4. A comment comes to mind that my grandmother told me more that once while growing up. “If you talk the talk then you must walk the walk.” Our actions speaks louder than words so be careful in you actions because, I believe these actions tell just what type of person we really are.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

