The Lord Gives, the Lord Takes Away – Blessed Be the Name of the Lord!!!

I praise our God that we are all safe, and have no major structural damage, even though we suffered the brunt of Irene for over 30 hours. We were without electricity from Saturday morning, until yesterday afternoon, and we lost everything in our freezer that I’d put up all summer. Over $1200.00 worth of vegetables, fish, and chicken. I only had 2 packages each of fish and chicken, so the bulk of what we lost was vegetables.

God is so awesome, and I know that He will provide in His way. This opportunity afforded me the chance to teach our neighbor (whom I’ve been witnessing to for over 10 years) a little more about the nature of God. He was really upset that “God had taken away my food” when I cook for him all the time, and help him so much. I just told him, “If He takes away, who can hinder Him? Who can say to Him, ‘What are You doing?'” – (Job 9:12), and Job 1:21″…The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord!”

I used this example with my 10 year old daughter, while Mr. Cliff (my neighbor) was here, and he got it, I think. I told her that if I handed her a bag of oatmeal cookies, she would think I was the greatest mom ever. But if I saw that, for whatever reason, she would be better off without them anymore (she was getting a stomach ache, etc), and I then took them back, then she would be presented with a choice. She could either say, “Mom is so mean, she always takes things away from me” – forgetting the good, or she could say, “Mom knows things that I don’t, and if she took them away, she must have a reason, so I’ll trust that she has my best at heart”. We have the same choice. God blessed us with food all spring and summer, and now, even though we had a generator (the freezer actually died as well), we don’t have it. God has a purpose. He is still in control, His way is always perfect, and He will bless me in whatever way He decides to.

I mean, all of our children (including our 2 married daughters and their families) are safe, no flooding, no structural damage to homes, etc. We are blessed.

We have people just an hour east of us who are still under water, and have lost everything. (We live in Edenton, NC). There are people further north that are still under water, and have lost everything. Food can be replaced. I did call FEMA, and they have said that there are no emergency food stamps for our county. Most of the county had power back on Sunday, we didn’t have it back on in our little section of our neighborhood until yesterday around 4:30 pm. I don’t have the money to even replace what was in our fridge, let alone the freezer, but God is in control of that.

I’m working in the garden today to salvage what is left there.

Thank you all so much for your prayers!

Leave a Reply

